Office de Tourisme Alsace Rhin Brisach



UNESCO is the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. It seeks to build peace through international cooperation in Education, the Sciences and Culture. World heritage is something that is from the past and is admired our days; Something that we share from one generation to the next one. The title World Heritage belongs to more than 1000 monuments and places in the world. Considered to be unique and exceptional for humanity and which deserves to be protected.

Neuf-Brisach and the Network of the 12 main Sites of Vauban

Neuf-Brisach, which fortifications have been listed as part of the UNESCO World Heritage, is member of the Network of the 12 main sites by Vauban.
This Network has been created in November 2005 and reunite the 12 main sites and fortifications built by Vauban and who are also part of the UNESCO World Heritage: Besançon, Briançon, Mont-Dauphin, Mont-Louis, Villefranche-de-Conflent, Blaye / Cussac-Fort-Médoc, Saint-Martin-de-Ré, Camaret-sur-Mer, Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue, Arras, Longwy and Neuf-Brisach.

Cartes 12 sites majeurs Vauban

This Network’s goal is to take care of those places and to share it with all generations, so it won’t be forgotten. All of those 12 places are showing the mastermind of Vauban, his strategic way of architecture which is unique in this world.

Logo Réseau Vauban
Réseau Vauban

2023 marks the 15th anniversary of the addition of Vauban's Fortifications to UNESCO's World Heritage List.

On 7 July 2023, Day of the listing, flags were raised at all the sites at 11am. This joint symbolic celebration underlined the unity of the 12 fortifications across France.